Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interest, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that personal information carries weight when applying for a job, while others say this information has no significance. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with the former opinion because it can help companies plan for the future, even though it may seem like a breach of privacy. If employers are aware of their employee's situation, they are better able to plan for the future and help both the company as well as the future employee. For instance, a married woman applies for a job and she informs the manager that she is expecting to deliver her baby in the next few months. The manager can then plan her maternity leave accordingly and he can even look to hire a part-time worker while she is on leave, thereby ensuring a smooth transition between the two periods. Hence, declaring personal information during an interview or on an application form can create a sense of ease in both the employer and the applicant. However, other people may object to the idea of revealing personal information because this would be seen as a breach of privacy. For example, an applicant enjoys dancing in his free time but it is embarrassing for him if other people find out, therefore he would not want to give out this information freely. This is why some workers want to separate their social and work life because not only is it embarrassing, but it has no relationship with the work they are doing. Therefore, forcing candidates to disclose information about themselves which has no bearing on the job is ethically wrong, hence why some people are against the idea of giving out personal information. Although disclosing personal information may seem like a breach of privacy to some, I believe it is essential to declare as much information as possible, which includes facts about one's self, to allow the company to plan ahead and make preparations accordingly.