Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the need for public transport is increasing day by day. Communities are preferring public transport rather than their own vehicles, the ruling authorities have a plan to invest money in the development of railways as compared to national and state highways. According to the demand, I would disagree and believe that the government should equally distribute funds for the growth of both modes of transport. To commence with, in metropolitan cities more than 90% of the people prefer public buses to travel to their offices, shops or for meetings. Moreover, the cost of this mode of transport is negligible, that is why demand is rising, as a matter of fact the government should invest a large amount of money to develop better road infrastructure with excellent connectivity to all parts of the cities, so that it will comfortable for each individual to travel at any place. For instance, Chandigarh territory of India where the government have spent around 80% of the funds to develop better highways, where traffic is very less and it is called the best-planned city in the nation. However, rather than just roads the demand for metro trains is also rising, because of its two benefits, a cheap cost and it runs on electricity that is environmentally friendly. Additionally, it has better connectivity than roads and no issue of traffic jams, as a result it saves the time of travelling. Delhi is the capital of India where the ruling authorities have spent millions to build a strong metro train connectivity around the complete city. All in all, each aspect has its pros and cons. Although, metro trains have a significant number of benefits, but the cost of building these projects is 10 times more than the road infrastructure. Thus, the ruling authorities should equally distribute money depending upon the condition of the cities and then develop infrastructure.