In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that in many parts of the world, more and more people have left their hometowns to settle down in big cities. In my opinion, this is totally a bad sign for both areas. On the one hand, this trend is disadvantageous to remote areas. Having many people move out has created a shortage of workforce in the countryside, and, this, therefore, has affected the agriculture of the country. For example, a lot of farmers have abandoned their farms and fields to seek employment prospects in metropolises. In addition, a decrease in population in the rural zones makes it hard for governments to plan and develop them, as it may be a waste of national resources to upgrade public services such as schools or hospitals there just to cater to small communities. As a result, locals do not have the motivation to stay and the emigration wave will not stop. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks for cities too. First, the infrastructure cannot catch up with the boom of population, and, therefore, many city dwellers are living in an under-standard situation. For example, modern cities like Mumbai or Manila have many slumdogs which affect the beauty and development of those urban places. Second, a large number of people immigrating to metropolises can generate chaos there as governments may be out of control of the cities’ overall situation, and this leads to the increase of social evils such as robbery, violence, drug abuse and unemployment. Finally, this trend worsens environmental problems such as air or noise pollution due to the increase of vehicles on the roads. In conclusion, my view is that the unbalanced allocation of settling between urban and rural regions is problematic for the country as a whole and specific areas in particular.