Today more people put personal and private information online to do everyday activities such as banking, shopping and socializing. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advent of the information era, there is a prevailing trend of migrating personal data from offline to cyberspace. In my opinion, despite some downsides related to the transformation, citizens are able to enjoy more benefits from this. On the one hand, it poses threats to users who have delivered personal information on the Internet. One drawback would be that the databases are not 100% secure. As a result, the storage, such as bank account numbers, family addresses, etc., saved online may be stolen or misused in some ways by cyber criminals, which causes not only property loss to clients but also reputation damage to the enterprise. Another disadvantage is that netizens who overly rely on the internet to accomplish personal affairs such as banking, shopping and socializing would feel isolated since it will drive them to become inactive at home. Furthermore, spending too much time on the screens of electronic gadgets takes a toll on our eyes and physical well-being on account of the lack of relaxation and exercise. On the other hand, online services can offer us more advantages. To begin with, it allows customers to have more access to make a living. For example, entrepreneurs can utilize big data to acquire information registered on electronic platforms, thus deriving suitable outcomes for the customers involved, providing various chances for both producers and customers to achieve a win-win situation. Besides, people are able to address a number of businesses and operations on the Internet, which cannot only save time but money and effort spent on commuting. For instance, clients can no longer pay a visit to the bank for transferring money from one account to another, because it can be done online. And, the increasing number of consumers worldwide enjoy online shopping since it offers more alternatives and time-saving choices. To conclude, although people may suffer from some risks such as online fraud and data leakage, keeping personal and private data online is gaining greater popularity around the globe due to the merits brought by it.