Some think that developing a successful career is more important than spending time with family and friends, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give our own opinion.

In our modern world, there is a controversial issue on whether the importance of a prosperous career is higher than focusing on relationships between relatives and peers. This essay will compare and contrast both views along with presenting my personal opinion at the end. On the one hand, in the materialistic world we are living currently, having a profitable career can be a matter of life and death. In our modern society, it is almost impossible to survive due to several reasons such as buying necessary provisions for your family and clothes. The lack of sufficient financial support might even lead you to find yourself on the street, without shelter. The fact that nothing in this world can be obtained free of charge will make it quite essential for every individual to get a job that will let us survive in this global village. On the other hand, it is undeniable that family bonds and friendship play an irreplaceable role in everyone's life. Even if one owns a good job, one cannot be happy without the aforementioned relationships. As a recent study has revealed, every third of the world's population is losing their family because of their addiction to their work. For this reason, personally, I think that the best way to deal with the problem is to keep a work-life balance so that we can benefit from both of them. Taking everything into consideration, it has become clear that though having a good career is a necessity in modern times for all of us, ties with our loved ones are no less significant as real happiness can only be achieved by their unity.