Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families, but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that majority of elderlies are sent to care facilities focused specifically on the needs of aged people. This essay will demonstrate benefits and drawbacks of this act. On the one hand, as individuals get older, they crave more family time. Being sent to a nursing home may frighten them, assuming their loved ones abandoned them. This may create tension between family members, resulting in distant communication. Consequently, aged members of society might feel desperate, which would also end up as depression. Many believe that depression causes shortage of lifespan. The other factor that should be taken in mind when sending someone to a care home is financial situation. Reviewing services of nursing homes will illustrate expenses, which in some cases might not fit into a family’s budget. Therefore, families should consider serious consequences of sending representatives of older generation to a nursing home. On the other hand, spending time in a nursing home might also keep an elderly individual engaged in several activities such as bingo, yoga. This kind of activities maintains an elderly’s mental health, which lengthens their lifespan as well. They provide people with pleasing emotions and let socialize with others. Meeting new people and being amiable with individuals at the same age range distracts aged members of society from stress and trauma, leading to a healthy lifestyle. In addition, considering the fact that nowadays the majority of people are involved in workplaces, it is crucial for elderlies to have someone in order to help them take care of themselves. To sum up, I believe that observing both advantages and disadvantages is necessary for providing elderlies with their needs until the rest of their lives.