Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, there are better alternative ways of reducing crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For a long time, prison sentences were a controversial topic.A vast majority of people afirm a firm that longer prison sentences is proportionally correlated to the minimisation of crime, others are of the option that there are different alternatives to this problem. Extended prison punishment has several benefits. This decision would make people think twice before committing any type of crime. As a result this would reduce essentially the number of prisoners. However, extending the prison sentence is not effective from the economical point of view because the number of prisoners will escalate and jails will be forced to be reconstructed to get additional space and to employ more staff for the security of the prisoners. As a consequence the state will have to invest extra funds into this particular sphere that does not bring back any profits. On the other hand some people argue that it is more beneficial to apply different methods to reduce crime. Firstly, if a country has jobs where citizens could apply and make a decent living out of, the number of criminals will be reduced. Consequently, funds that would have been used for the construction of jails will now be used for economical development and people will have a better living.A substantial root of crime is selfishness and greed. This can be extracted from our society by teaching young children the right way of living.The change would result into a different society that lives greater and has a decreased crime rate. In conclusion it is true that both views have their own unique advantages and disadvantages.