In many cities around the world, traffic is serious problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to improve the situation?

One of the most serious issues facing modern cities is traffic. Not only does it hinder movement, delaying commuters and costing businesses money, but those vehicles contribute to toxic fumes that are damaging our air quality. In this essay, I will discuss the causes such as the growing population and insufficient infrastructure which are driving the current traffic problems and suggest ways such as cheaper public transport and investments by governments to improve the situation. Traffic congestion is caused by two things. The first is simply the growing population. Clearly, as more and more people flock to urban areas, as they have been doing for decades now, more cars crowd the roads, and more traffic jams occur. For example, Melbourne which has seen the highest population increase in Australia is a classic example of a city now struggling to cope with the rise in vehicles. The other factor, somewhat related, is the insufficient infrastructure in many urban areas. Poor road maintenance, badly programmed traffic signals and a lack of public transport options all mean drivers spend longer stuck in traffic. There are, however, some options to alleviate the problems caused by heavy traffic. One is to improve public transport by making it cheaper, more reliable and safer. For instance, if trains, buses and trams were viable options, commuters would be more likely to leave their cars at home. Another less simple solution would be for governments to invest more in regional zones. For example, governments can encourage some large companies to relocate there, perhaps by offering tax breaks or rent subsidies. The state could lure more people away from congested urban areas. This shift in population could take the pressure off the road system and drastically cut traffic. In conclusion, even though traffic seems to be an inevitable part of modern life, it need not be. With simple creative thinking and investment from leaders, the situation could be improved.