Behaviour in schools is getting worse. Explain the causes of this problem and suggest some possible solutions.

The classroom of fifty years ago was a very different place from the modern one. Over time, student behaviour has deteriorated and is now, in many schools a serious problem. This essay will examine the main reasons for this decline and suggest some measures to deal with badly behaved youngsters. There are two key factors behind the current epidemic of disrespect and bad behaviour among students. The first relates to the schools themselves. In countries such as Australia and England, as a result of shifting public attitudes and pedagogy, it has become virtually impossible for teachers to discipline unruly students. For example, If a teacher does seek to reprimand a child for being rude and disruptive, they themselves are often disciplined. The other factor involves parents. Whereas in the past parents used to support teachers and enforce certain standards of behaviour in the home, many modern parents tend to be excessively permissive and even foster a disregard for authority figures, which exacerbates problems at school. Clearly, both teachers and parents need to take action. From the school's perspective, strict guidelines need to be in place along with clear expectations of what is acceptable and what is not. If a child breaks the rules, there need to be consequences such as detention or suspension. In terms of parents, the issue is much more difficult, as it stems from a cultural basis which can be deeply entrenched. Nevertheless, they ought to set a good example in the home and enforce their own rules consistently, not only for the well-being of their child's peers and educators but also for their child's own future as a member of society. In conclusion, a student's bad behaviour is often the result of insufficient boundaries both at home and at school. As such, the solution depends on the cooperation of parents and teachers.