Some people say that increasing prices of petrol is the best way to reduce traffic jams and pollution. Do you agree or disagree?

Transportation is one of the necessities of today's life. Majority of the transport is dependent on the fossil fuel and petrol is the biggest component of it. Although it is the basic energy resource of vehicles and factories, it is one of the major causes of air pollution as well. Many people have an opinion that increasing the price of it, is going to reduce that burden but I refute this statement. Considering the fact that it will only bring the price hiking of everything and, consequently, going to increase problems for the nation, it will not be a good decision. Firstly, as we all know, fruits and vegetables are grown in different villages and those poor farmers bring them to cities in their vehicles. Increasing the pricing of petroleum is going to affect them first. As a result, to compensate for their loss, they are going to change the price of the products. Ultimately, the consumer would be buying these food items at a higher cost. For instance, last year the increase in fuel prices brought 5% inflation to the country. Secondly, the education of the people regarding the hazards of its use is more important than any other measures. Running ads on television and in newspapers that teach the population about the side effects of using fossil fuels will definitely boom the positive result. For example, China is working hard on such projects and a large percentage of inhabitants are now travelling by bicycle at least once a week and this has helped a lot in saving the environment. In conclusion, it can be said that information regarding its hazardous nature is of prime importance and is more important than just raising the price tag. It would make a great difference in optimization and controlling the outcome of this issue.