In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

Traditional languages hold significant value in the history and culture of the country. An argument of these languages being irrelevant and derelict among youngsters has gained the limelight. The discussion of whether it is supposed to happen eventually or should be saved from being nonexistent will be done here. Perhaps, the fundamental reason is that the world is changing rapidly over the course of time and the old languages have no role to play in the modern world. This means that individuals today want to focus on the prospects that are important in their field of work rather than learning a language which has no global significance as the world is becoming more fast-paced. Furthermore, in today’s era of globalization, people may prefer to learn a language which could be understood by plenty of people worldwide and not waste their time on a language which only a few speak. Examples can be seen in a country like India where people tend to lean towards language like English and ignore Sanskrit. On the contrary, the language spoken in ancient times has shaped the cultural and historical structure of the nation. This means that the old native languages have been blended into the history of the country in the form of folklore, fine arts, handicraft, rituals and mythology. The traditional language should be kept alive and passed on to upcoming generations as it is not only an integral part of the nation but also a unique feature of the country. To conclude, The world is an ever-changing place and plenty of things may become relevant or irrelevant depending upon the period, but that does not translate to the fact that citizens should forget their roots and follow the new trend. Pupils should take pride in learning their age-old native language.The old languages surely need to be protected and learned at any cost.