Full time university students spend most of their time behind academic subjects. Some people say that they should engage in other activities also. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Determining the best method of educating students, particularly in universities, has long been the topic of numerous debates. In this regard, although many people claim that instead of spending too much time on academic subjects, it would be a better idea to define some extra activities also to make them more involved, others take the opposite point of view. I firmly believe that the former group's statement seems to be more logical for many reasons. To begin with, it is widely accepted that universities can be considered the best place for enhancing marketable skills in students in order to be prepared for upcoming job positions. This, obviously, require extra-curriculum activities in which students have a strong chance to develop their practical qualifications under the supervision of experienced scholars. This, therefore, would be equally beneficial for both individuals and society due to the fact that not only individuals could be more functionally engaged in their field of study, but also society could move forward at a faster pace by using these new skilful workforces. In the UK, for instance, there is a broad range of extra courses in university to improve students ' capabilities in different aspects for being more productive in their future careers. That is probably why the unemployment rate in the UK has always been kept at a minimum level in comparison whit the other countries in Europe. Furthermore, a university is not a place merely for learning academic lessons, but it should be a safe environment to give a new perspective on life. In other words, undergraduate people could be introduced to new social networks and meet other like-minded people through performing extra tasks or exercises such as sports, music festivals or art programmes. These innovative approaches not only provide a golden opportunity for young students to be more rounded as a person but also help them to become motivated in learning academic subjects. Accordingly, such well-planned programmes could play an undoubted part in enriching the learning skills of the student. The latest research in Iran, for example, has demonstrated that those collegian who study in educational institutions offering alternative courses and seminars have gotten above-average final grades on a national scale. To sum up, I am of the opinion that universities ought to introduce non-academic schemes with the intention of developing new competence and outlook in their students provided they want to earn a reputation as a top-class university.