Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby.Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, smoking has become a trend, especially amongst the younger generation. It not only affects the smokers but also the others nearby. Although most people speculate that this should be banned in public places but some people disagree. In this essay, I will discuss both views and outline why I completely support the idea in order to prevent its negative effects on individuals' health. The main reason why smoking should be banned is it affects bystanders, such as families, friends or colleagues. The smoke from cigarettes smells terrible. If you stand next to a smoker, your attire will smell like tobacco smoke for the rest of the day which is hugely inconvenient for a non-smoker. In addition, allowing smoking in public places affects bystander's moods. For instance, non-smokers are not comfortable or happy if someone else is having cigarettes when they are on a date in a park or enjoying a meal at a restaurant. So, this trend of smoking openly not only proliferates the development of various diseases but also makes the surrounding crowds unpleasant. By contrast, there is some disagreement. Few smokers say that they never had any illnesses from having cigarettes or they just smoke occasionally. However, this is something they have to reconsider as they are unable to see the side effects visually straightaway, it may come out on their health later such as cancers or serious skin problems. Additionally, it is obvious that smoking gives significant impacts on pregnancy. Clearly, there are no advantages to smoking in public areas as cigarettes affect both smokers and bystanders. In conclusion, although why smoking should be banned was discussed, smoking in public areas has become a complex issue with no specific solutions. In my opinion, therefore, government and the individuals should take actions to tackle this important matter to protect our health and the environment soon.