Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It is undeniable that many people decide to immigrate to other countries to pursue their career goals these days, due to the advancement of transportation. However, some people still prefer to live in the area where they were born and raised. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and the drawbacks and merits of it. To begin with, one of the main reasons is a lot of knowledge in their hometowns which is beneficial for living. For example, people who stay in their native country instead of migrating don’t have to face the trouble of searching the information about where they can purchase certain items or how the city system works. Another reason is that you can avoid the language barrier problem. For instance, Many international students couldn’t participate in social activities as much as they desire due to the lack of second language skills. On the contrary, domestic students living in their hometown can be proactive in their college life while using their fluent mother tongue. Therefore, it is clear that there are a number of reasons to consider living in the area where are used to. This trend can have some drawbacks and benefits at the same time. Spending an entire lifetime in a limited region can make people hard to understand other cultures. Needless to say, a lot of experience with various people is helpful in recognizing other cultures and respecting them. Therefore, living in your hometown most of the time can bring negative results such as an exclusive attitude toward other cultures. However, one of the main benefits is that you can get emotional support from your family members or close communities you are used to. The recent research on depression among students in college is well-attested that students who live close to their hometown experienced less mental stress because there were people close by whom they could rely on. To put it in a nutshell, it can be seen that information and language are the main factors for wanting to continue living in the same area they are born. And it is clear that this trend has the merit of mental support, but it also has the demerit of a narrow perspective.