Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission.

In some countries, the government has access to call records and message whereas in other countries, this information is private. Whether this information should be available freely is up for debate and there are certain advantages and disadvantages to this. The main advantage of having access to this information would be for safety reasons. Local authorities will have an easier job when it comes to intercepting crimes before they happen. For example, death threats over text message can be alerted to the police, allowing them to investigate the situation before it escalates. Furthermore, it would allow individuals to feel safer in their environment, knowing it’s harder for other people to commit crimes. Not to mention, the police, which spend a lot of time collecting evidence, will be able to perform their job better and more effectively, helping more people in their community. However, a large majority of the public values privacy. Having access to all these records contradicts an individual’s right to their personal conversations. Therefore, people may reduce the amount of time they communicate over calls and messages. Moreover, they may begin to filter what they say, knowing that all their interactions are being recorded. For example, a person wanting to commit a crime would not mention it over the phone as they know they would be stopped by the police before they can even commit the crime. This would defeat the purpose of having access in the first place. In conclusion, having the ability to prevent crimes is a huge asset to the government and police. However because of the points I have mentioned, it has it’s limitations. The government need to continue to find a solution which strikes the balance between privacy and providing a safer environment for everyone.