Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Working long hours is common in big MNCs and the corporate world. Few employees do it by choice, but most of them are forced to do it. With the growing awareness of mental health, many countries are introducing strict laws for the welfare of employees. Employers are obligated not to take advantage of employees ' insecurities towards losing jobs if they don't put in extra hours. To eliminate this fear from the heart of employees and simultaneously improve the mental health of its citizens, the government has taken such strong and vital steps. I believe these initiatives will contribute towards the betterment of hard-working workers. Such well-thoughtful laws were the dire need of all the working class people. It will not only eliminate fear from employees ' mind but also improves mental health. For example, England has introduced a four-day office culture by extending each day to 9 hours instead of 8 hours. And there are strict laws with hefty penalty who do not obey this. Introduction to such laws will improve mental state and reduce the fear of losing a job in the working class. In addition to that, some other benefits are improved work-life balance, and people get more time to socialize. People can utilize after-office hours to explore their passion and hobbies, which is essential for longevity in their professional life. For instance, it will recharge their batteries and reduce stress levels in employees, hence improving their health. To sum up, we have discussed reasons for such laws limiting the working hours an employer can demand from their staff. Improved mental state and eliminating the insecurities of losing a job are some of the reasons. Also, reduced stress and improved work-life balance are a few advantages we get out of these laws.