In some countries, more and more local shops are closing down because so many people now shop online. What problems might this cause? What is the best way to deal with this problem?

Over the last two or three decades, the way individuals purchase items has changed drastically due to major advances in technology. As a result, a growing number of people are now choosing to shop online from the comfort of their homes resulting in less number of shops in the market. This essay will explore the problems caused by this advancement and how they can be resolved. There are some issues arising from the trend of shopping online. Though it is true that Online purchase among youngsters has become very common these days because of the options and convenience provided by online shoppers but it is causing obstacles for the local market. Moreover, many older people are unaware of how to purchase online, so the reduction in local market can create problems for them because of the lack of variety. Another worth considering problem is unemployment caused by the increase in online purchasing since one or more individuals work at a shop and if it is closed then they will be unemployed if they do not have anything else to do. There are several solutions to this concern. Firstly, The local shops can shop for their products online as well so that after checking items online, the customers can visit and check the quality of the material. Secondly, shopkeepers can provide vouchers to the customers visiting them which can only be used by again visiting the store. Therefore these are some basic ways that can be adopted by local vendors to enhance their sales and maximize their profit. To conclude, the Closing of local stores is an issue of concern for elderly community because they will not have more choices and unemployment may be another problem. However, small efforts made by shopkeepers can mitigate the problem by displaying their items online and giving gift vouchers to customers.