In today’s very competitive world, a worker has to possess multiple skills to succeed.  Among the skills that a worker should possess, which skill do you think is more important, social skills or good qualifications? Explain the reasons and provide specific examples to support your answer.

Globalization leads to fierce competition among talents worldwide. It is vital for employees to process a wide variety of skills to stay competitive in the job market. In my opinion, processing social skills is more important than having good academic qualification as the former suits the current development and the need of employers nowadays. Reasons and examples will be discussed below. Firstly, acquiring inter-personal skills is the key to success because people are most likely work in teams in enterprises. For instance, employees are divided into teams to work on projects in IT industries. Although having professional qualification facilitates the understanding of the work, people having good social skills are able to achieve synergy in the team. A good team player is more likely to bring success to the company. Secondly, many local companies have become cross-border enterprises thanks to the rapid progress of globalisation. The employees of these enterprises comprise of a wide variety of nationalities. Hence, workers with satisfactory communication skill can be better adapted in a multi-cultural workplace. For example, 30% of employees working in Twitter are Asians which most of them have obtained master in universities and are experienced in their field of enterprise. To become an outstanding employee among the elites, possessing communication skill is vital nowadays. To conclude, I support that people with good interpersonal skill are more likely to succeed in the career than those with high qualification. Companies nowadays put emphasis on teamwork rather than personal achievements. At the same time, multinational enterprises tend to employ talents from all over the world. It is unavoidable to work with colleagues with different cultural background. Employees possessed good social skills can earn a competitive edge over their counterparts.