Some think that the government should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern society, some people believe that the government should financially support the retired, ageing population while others think they should be able to be financially independent. I believe that the government should definitely support retired workers, especially the ones who have had a larger impact on the country’s well-being. There is no denying that most people have a rough idea on when they would like to retire so planning in advance and having the ability to save money for their future is a big reason why the government shouldn’t pay. Therefore, it would make sense for the government to refuse financial support in this case. However, many jobs on minimum wage, especially the one’s directly involved with the government, do not make enough money to save for retirement. As a result, they would need extra support financially. Now to why the government should pay, there are multiple reasons. One of them being that many individuals pay taxes and have jobs that they can only sustain during their younger years. For example, soldiers working in the army retire younger and find themselves jobless after retirement. Not to mention how much they sacrifice for their country, only to be left with nothing as soon as they finish their service. As far as taxes are concerned, most of the money that the public spend, many of them never see the impact it has on the country. In conclusion, the government should aim to implement schemes that give back to some of the most valuable members of our society. Without them, the country would struggle to function effectively. To give them nothing in return is a disgrace to the government.