With the increasing demand for energy such as oil and gas, people start to look for their sources in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Driven by the increasing population and economic growth, the demand for energy that mainly comes from fossil fuel currently grows rapidly, as a result of some suggestions that we should source more from faraway and unexploited areas. From my perspective, the demerits of the activity outweigh the merits. The most tangible benefit of such a strategy is the boost to the economy. Explorations for new sources are expected to bring about more job opportunities, and therefore the productivity and tax revenue of the nation will be increased. Each country’s development leads to a boom in global markets, and the living standard of the region can be improved as well. For another, Searching for energy in uncharted territory relies on technological innovations, so the new exploration will be bound to promote the development of science and technology. However, such activities may create challenges which will end up jeopardizing the environment in an irreversible way. For example, the debate over whether to drill for fossil fuels in the Arctic and Antarctic has existed for more than a decade simply because of its possible disastrous impact. Drilling there would directly destroy the habitat of animals such as polar bears and penguins. Industrialization of these places could undermine the marine and coastal resources that marine animals heavily rely on. What is worse, a wider scale of exploration means over-dependence on fossil resources. Global warming and other climate problems have deteriorated to a tipping point. Thus, we should make an effort to phase out the use of fossil fuels by introducing more clean energies, such as biofuels and electricity, to name but a few. In conclusion, although discovering more power sources in new places may bring some benefits to locals, the drawbacks should not be obscured, thereby taking all factors into consideration to address the shortage of energy worldwide.