Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Crime is a gigantic problem to countries. This problem can be resolved in numerous ways, but the government still struggles to pick the most effective one. While the masses believe that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences, others believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crimes. Giving longer prison sentences is a good way to reduce crime for a reason. By giving longer prison sentences, people might think twice before commiting a felony. As a result, crime rates will drop, and humans that do commit crimes will be locked up in prison cells for longer. On the other hand, the community agrees that alternative ways of reducing crime, such as providing proper education facilities and employment opportunities are more effective. Proper education and job opportunities eliminate the reason for commiting crimes, thus reducing the number of offences. To exemplify, in Japan education is taken seriously and the government and people are working hard to create new job offers. That is the reason why Japan is often considered a "crimeless state". In conclusion, it is true to say that both greater prison sentences and eliminating the root cause of crime has their own unique advantages.