It is suggested that all young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work, helping people in the community.

In this day and age, there are some people who belive that the youths should be obliged to provide aid to people in the community for a short-term period, albeit free of income. This arrangement, would seemingly disadvantage in certain aspects, actually possesses many merits that, in my opinion, would overshadow the drawbacks. Regarding the drawbacks if such as schemes come to fruition, some young people would not be willingly do because they feel their time is being wasted, also struggle to balance work time and volunteer time. To the ones who have families, this would pose a dramatic influence on their financial aspects. Since they are compelled to perform community services would subject them to a loss of income, meanwhile, they will have no money to support their families, as well as paying their living expenses. In spite of the above arguments, I am inclined to think the pros outweigh the cons. First and foremost, those activities would help the youths to build empathy and compassion as the result of donating time and helping others. Undoubtedly, by helping the elderly, the sick, and the disabled or joining the charity activities like raising funds, young adults will certainly obtain and accumulate first-hand value experience, and know more about society. Furthermore, those who are eager to help others are civic-minded and develop social skills, consequently, they will find it easy to form new relationships. In a nutshell, I stand by my belief that the merits of suggesting the youths serve others in the community eclipse its demerits. This sort of activities should be widely-propagated as voluntary activities not mandatory.