Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to community? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's economic situation with high inflationary pressures, people are more and more squeezed up with low-income levels coupled with meager savings to support some of their necessary requirements for instance, medical and child schooling is one of the classic examples. I do agree that long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits must do and contribute in voluntary work. In every society, professionals are the backbone of society and they have reached this level by the support and guidance of the government and community, therefore after reaching at this level it is their time to pay back to the society. As an example, many children in underdeveloped countries who are residing in slums are deprived from the basic education, their parents cannot afford to send them to schools, therefore if government professionals can spare some time to teach them during their free time it would certainly be the game changer in the society. We have many examples of some of these kids now becoming CEOs or high-level executives in multinational organizations across the globe. Furthermore, another benefit of voluntary work is cost savings for the government organizations. Qualified professional people are very expensive to hire therefore, if these professionals can spare some of their hours in providing services to different government organizations it will certainly reduce the cost of these organizations. For example, if doctors of government hospitals can devote some time in providing their services to different hospitals free of charge, that will create lot of benefits to poor and needy people and not only that it will save a hefty amount in the health budget which can be used or diverted to other important areas. In conclusion, voluntary work is always a positive contributor in the society with many benefits for the poor and underprivileged people. Most of the developed nations have made volunteer work mandatory for its government employees and have points system so that these people can also be rewarded with some awards or certificates as an appreciation to their work.