Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is said that bicycle is not considered a form of transportation in many places even if it is environmentally friendlier than other kind of vehicles and there are several reasons why this happens. In my view, a lot of solutions could be taken to tackle this issue. There are severe reasons why bicycle is not welcomed and the foremost root of this problem is people's concerns about the road safety of the bike is not good. For example, imagine that bikers share the same route with trucks, cars, and so on, there may be a lot of accidents happen due to the dead angle of those big vehicles. Another cause of this issue is its inconvenience, this kind of transportation is slow, cannot carry a lot of people or goods, and may not reach a far distance. For instance, parents cannot shuttle their children from home to school only by bike. However, it is obvious that there are various ways that society could apply to tackle these obstacles. Firstly, in order to solve safety concerns, governments should build dedicated lanes for bikes. Secondly, people should try to invent and produce supported gadgets for this type of transportation such as bike speed accelerators, additional seats, and so on. Moreover, there should be foldable bikes for easy carry on public transport such as trains, buses, and metro for further distances. In conclusion, there is no doubt that society could certainly implement a range of measures including creating its own routes and inventing supporting gadgets to tackle this urgent problem.