In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing school and starting universities.Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In majority of the countries, people advice young adults to travel to obtain experience that would be beneficial for tertiary education. While many people think this is advantageous there are people who believe this would result in major drawbacks. On one hand, it is important for young adults to travel the world so they acquire experience that could help them during their university period. For instance, it's very common in Europe for a family to send their children to a neighboring country alone so they learn how to overcome difficult situation such as traveling alone, getting a job etc, moreover it will help the young adults to obtain soft skills that the school will not provide and would have a significant impact on their lives. On the other hand, traveling for a year could result is valuable time lost, nowadays the competition to get in to Join the words into show examples a university is quite competitive. Young adults should try to use this time to do an additional course which would help their chances to get into universities much higher. For example, going to a workshop or trying for an internship would benifit an individual more than traveling outside for a year In conclusion, traveling for a year before joining university might have a positive outcome however it could result in major disadvantages