Dieting can change a person's life for the better or ruin's one's health completely. What's your opinion?

It is an undeniable fact that prevalence of obesity is gradually rising, causing not only many health problems but also being in charge of a huge expenditure in health systems. Consequently, the question arises whether dieting is a successful approach, or causes even severe compliactions. This will be discussed in the following paragraphs. What first comes to your mind when thinking about a solution for obesity, is performing sports or restricting food supply. Relying on a nutrition schedule represents a personal plan how to lose weight, and subsequently gives you the feeling of having your fate in your own hands. Benefiting from positive emotions you gain while getting closer to your desired weight might be an unprecedented game changer. Moreover, consuming healthier food will affect the whole body in a positive way like decreasing blood pressure, for example. On the other hand, negative consequences of dieting are well-known in the scientific world, resulting in inevitable repercussions. Firstly, sticking to a stiff eating plan minimizes life’s joy and quality, and therefore harms personal well-being and psychological stability simultaneously. Always having an eye on your diet plan will subsequently remind you of your obesity problem every single moment. This might cause depressions and even the end of one’s ambition to lose weight. Furthermore, studies reveal that after dieting the body will try to use any calorie to gain weight again so the person would probably end up with a higher weight than before, known as the „ jojo effect“. Therefore, a never-ending circle of loosing and gaining weight might eventually lead to an eating disorder. In addition, some diets consist of an inadequate supply of nutrition, having a negative impact of the immune system, and causing further problems. Overall, obesity is one of the most severe issue in modern times especially in the industrial world, and it is unclear whether dieting will help or not. In my opinion, punishing yourself with not eating the food you enjoy is not an appropriate solution and could even result in devastating consequences.