It is common nowadays for each member of the family to have their own piece of modern technology. Some people think this will lead to a break down in family relationship and communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A much-debated issue these days is whether the development of technology had gained negative impact on family communication and relationship or had improved the quality of our lives. As far as culture, economy, and feasibility are concerned, I strongly hold that the advantage outweighs the disadvantage. In the following essay, I aim to identify the sources of this issue and give my opinion. First and foremost, modern technology is more economical as people will be able to connect to their friends by online phone calls and Facetime which are more worldwide. To be more specific, people can quickly access and share information through email, social media, online news, and other channels, facilitating knowledge dissemination and global connections. Besides, it promoted economic growth by introducing and application of new technologies and creating new industries and job opportunities, eventually boosting the growth of GDP. Furthermore, smart home technologies and e-commerce platforms make communication, shopping and handling daily tasks such as buying groceries more convenient and entertaining. On the contrary, the widespread adoption of technology can lead communities overly rely on virtual social networks, reducing real-life face-to-face talking and social interaction. For instance, the younger may easily put their attention on online games without putting more weight on their study and ignoring their potential health and mental problems. Meanwhile, it is important to set a limit on using computers and phones to avoid children becoming self-interest and wanting to stay in their comfort zone. Last but not least, the risks of data breaches, cyber-attacks, and misuse of personal information increase, necessitating strong privacy protection and the awareness of protecting personal detail. There are two different views on the matter of modern technologic. to summarize, although views on this issue vary from person to person, I tend to believe that the development of technologies should be promoted because they are valuable and necessary. Therefore, the advantage outweighs the disadvantage, and I believe it can be only a matter of time in the future.