Governments should fund scientific research rather than commercial organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

It is often argued that investing in scientific progress is more beneficial than funding business industries. In my opinion, governments should play a crucial role in scientific progress, while contributions from private companies should also be included for the better fulfilment of societal demands. On the one hand, scientific researchers help society to figure out existing problems which have a direct impact on human beings and their surroundings. In other words, if the authority invests more in science, it will undoubtedly promote social development thus bringing benefits to all. For example, few individuals can afford space exploration, which cannot only have the potential to gain wealth for the country but seek out a new way for humans to achieve sustainable development. As a result, governments should be the major determiner in funding the project. Furthermore, under no circumstance should a government shirk the responsibility to offer financial support for scientific explorations, because it is the best way to keep an edge in national competence. On the other hand, all interested parties should be involved in scientific developments, thereby individual factors, such as private enterprises and individuals, should also play a part, joining hands with governmental organizations to make significant achievements. For instance, the vaccine for Covid-19 was developed by not only state-owned corporations but private ones, say, Moderna and Pfizer, which, as a whole, have made an effort to save as many lives as they can, protecting us from lethal diseases. In addition, progress in science may be accelerated through individual efforts, which is simply because individual researchers are driven by profit, thus sparing no pains to make goals fulfilled. By contrast, more time and effort would be spent on government-controlled projects due to bureaucratic red tape. In conclusion, the public and private sectors should make contributions to scientific research, both of which are key motivators.