Some people think that schools should give prizes for academic successes. Others argue that it is more important for schools to give prizes for other achievements (for example, for sports, music and behaviour). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Several parents have suggested that prizes should be awarded for academic success, while others disagree, arguing that prizes should be given to other achievements instead. I will further discuss these views below and formulate my personal judgement on the matter. To begin with, those who think that schools should give prizes for academic success are correct. However, those who oppose this idea in favour of other school achievements, are also not wrong. As a student, the honour of being ranked as the highest in their class or school is no mere "walk in the park". Achieving such status takes a huge amount of commitment and hard work. It shows that the students are determined to strive in their studies. In my opinion, It does not matter which achievements are more important, they are all equally demanding. My suggestion would be to combine the two thoughts into one, and give prizes to both academic and miscellaneous school achievements. The act of only rewarding a certain group of achievers would be a negative message for all the other students who had poured all their hard work into their studies, labelling their hardship as in vain. In conclusion, both achievements equally require hard work, dedication and determination. It is only right that successes are to be met with rewards, no matter the varying differences in both lanes.