Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Unpaid work is very rarely carried out by full-time working professionals due to the massive workload present in every sector. Many reports suggest that the governing bodies should encourage workers by providing fruitful rewards to help NGOs by volunteering for them. From my point of view, authority should not be involved in encouraging employees to be part of unpaid work. Many non-governmental organisations lack the manpower to deal with all the activists they carry on in favour of homeless and needy people. Government with its assistance can prove to be a boon. Involving workers from different sectors and encouraging them for unpaid work will make them understand the ground reality and further motivate them to help the backward class. More manpower will eventually lead to quicker and easier work. For instance, there was a flood in a village in Gujarat, and with the help of the common working-class government was able to fulfil the basic need of that particular countryside place. Moving on, there are many bad impacts of forcing or bribing workers to be a part of this. Many who work full-time for 8 to 10 hours per day will get mentally exhausted and not be able to perform the prerequisite duties given by the authorities. Furthermore, this will create a burden on the government to provide them with special rewards. For example, as per a report by "The Times" in 2020 during Covid similar thing was executed by a town in Ontario, later on during budget there was a burden of 1 million dollars on the shoulders of the working-class itself, under the pretext of rewards. To conclude, after introspecting views from both sides, I strongly believe that professionals should not be bribed to give their extra hours for unpaid work as it will be a burden on the economy.