Some people think parents should supervise their children's activities closely, while others believe children should have more freedom.

While it is commonly thought parents are responsible for supervising children during play, others believe that we should let them freely explore. I’m going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, children must be controlled while playing. On the one hand, it is argued that children should be observed while playing at all times. The main reason is that children’s health is the most important. It is also possible to say that parents could approach their children as soon as recognise things to happen. For instance, parents must keep an eye on their children when they play on the playground as they could get injuries at any time. Another reason is that children’s well-being also plays a crucial role in their lives. For example, through watching children’s plays, parents are able to recognise their strengths and weaknesses, which can create an appropriate environment for them to learn and develop. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that children have the right to freely explore. People often have this opinion because they would like to assist their children in building autonomy. A second point is that free play could help children build confidence and develop a sense of respect. For example, children must have an opportunity to choose what they would love to play and learn. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that supervising children’s activities is one of the serious issues that parents must care about; meanwhile, others assume that children can play without the observation of adults. Personally, I tend to believe that checking on children when they play is significantly crucial.