Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and billboards.These adverts can encourage people to buy products that they do not really need? What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

A lot of organisions promote their products by using magazines, billboards and online platforms to make their business more profitable and productive. However, this method of selling can make consumers to buy products that they don’t necessarily need. In this essay I will show good and bad sides of using such type of marketing. First of all, the main advantage of online advertisement is that you always can find modern items that are popular. Furthermore, it’s really convenient for people to search for products that they need. For example, if you need to buy a freezer, there will be a lot of online adverts and you can find exactly what suits for you, as there will be a lot of information with features and prices. Another benefit of billboards is that they will show only verified products as the government control such type of advert. Thus people can rely on products that are on billboards and such a method is effective for consumers. On the other hand, this type of selling products forcing people to consume unnecessary products. Under the influence of advertisement people buy products which they will not use. Additionally, the quality of these commercial goods can be not justified. Moreover, the adverts in magazines are not good for the environment. For example, paper is made from wood, so people will cut down trees, consequently destroying the forest. In conclusion, the online advertisement is very convenient for consumers and becoming the main tool in the business industry, despite the fact it can propose for people unusable things. Overall, the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.