Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that gender distribution is unbalanced in many occupations, so I agree that some jobs are more suitable for males than for females and vice versa. The capability of men clearly outnumbers that of women in some fields such as manufacturing, mining, logging, etc. A lot of physically demanding tasks need to be done and assuredly, men can perform better than their female counterparts in doing heavy manual labour. They also play a dominant role in some sectors that involve a great deal of fighting and violence like the police and army. With men at the forefront facing criminals and enemies, female officers are expected to stay away from the crime scenes and battlefields, where intense fighting and cruel killing are common. There are also some female-dominated professions in which females represent the majority and make greater contributions. The feminine traits such as gentleness, patience and meticulousness give them an edge in nursing, teaching, clerking, etc. When taking care of the elderly, educating children and dealing with numbers, females usually outperform their male counterparts. Despite what has been discussed above, we should no longer exclude males or females from certain professions which is simply because of their gender. As the automation of machines and weapons has reached a high level, women can excel in the factory or in the army. Similarly, men are encouraged to be kindergarten teachers so that they can help boys develop masculinity from a young age. To conclude, there should be no gender discrimination in the workplace or stereotype in judging a person’s choice of career, but an undeniable fact is that, generally, both genders have different qualities, which make them fit certain jobs.