What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad

Nowadays, more and more people choose to study abroad and emigrate to other countries. There are both pros and cons. I’ll discuss them in the following paragraphs. Going to another country to earn a living or pursue a degree has various benefits. Firstly, people from developing countries can go to developed countries to acquire higher-quality education. For example, nowadays, the US has students worldwide because of its well-known academic institutions. Secondly, people can find higher salaries in developed countries, and their professionals are more valuable in other countries. Software engineers, for example, can earn more than three times their salary in the US than in my country, Taiwan. Finally, individuals can expand their horizons and insights by living abroad because they will encounter different cultures and need to leave their comfort zone. On the other hand, there are also some drawbacks to moving to another country. To begin with, people who study or work in other countries usually go through nostalgia and sacrifice their original relationships. For example, many of my friends who successfully find a decent job in the US tend to have fewer friends in my country because their life and experience have been different. Also, they don’t have enough time to meet with their old friends, or it is more difficult for them to have a long holiday to return to their native country. Furthermore, due to cultural differences and language barriers, most people cannot make friends with foreigners overseas as quickly as with people of the same nationality. In conclusion, as mentioned above, although geographical migration has become more and more popular, there are still positives and negatives. It is hard to say whether there are pros over cons.