An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgery/ plastic surgery. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Cosmetic surgery is becoming more and more prevalent with a plethora of people in this day and age. There are various reasons behind this trend and it brings back both advantages and disadvantages. There are two reasons as to why people opt for cosmetic methods to enhance their appearance. Chief of these is that a number of people, especially the young may undergo surgery to improve their self-esteem and confidence. As they may feel that their physical features are not in line with societal norms or their own personal standards. For instance, a person may feel insecure about their nose shape, or skin texture. Added to these is that several individuals feel that cosmetic surgery is an effective way to improve their career prospects. This is mainly because there are various celebrities who have plastic operations and their career success may be an example that everyone might want to follow. The increasing trend of cosmetic surgery is a double-edged sword. On one hand, it can have a positive impact on people's lives by boosting their self-esteem and confidence. This newfound confidence can lead to improved relationships, job opportunities, and overall happiness. Additionally, cosmetic surgery can correct medical issues and improve one's quality of life. On the other hand, the growing trend of cosmetic surgery can also have negative consequences. Firstly, the pressure to conform to societal beauty standards can lead society to undergo unnecessary and potentially risky procedures. Secondly, cosmetic surgery is often costly, and not everyone can afford it. This can create an unequal society where only the wealthy have access to these procedures. In conclusion, plastic surgeries becoming popular can be explained by various reasons. Nevertheless, despite its evident outcome such as appearance enhancement, it also has negative consequences such as creating an unequal society. Therefore, it is up to individuals to weigh up the pros and cons before having cosmetic operations.