In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

It is true that some specific courses are popular for just one gender in some schools and universities. While this is a serious problem, it can be solved by offering education to change old beliefs. The main reason for the creation of preferred subjects by sex is obsolete and inflexible thoughts from ancestors. In the past, girls were educated to become calm and quiet, while boys were taught to devote themselves to our society in the workforce. As a result, females are likely to choose subjects related to art whereas males prefer to opt for scientific degrees. Take the example of the Nobel prize, most of the winners of the Nobel prize, especially in physics and chemistry subjects, are men, taking up more than 90 percent of its total. This belief transferred until now, that it makes students think that they need to fit into an old conviction, resulting in a narrow point of view. However, there is a solution to this problem. By educating students, they can change their minds and re-think their future majors or subjects. Educational facilities can provide some programs which teach about equality between men and women. This will allow students to have proper conviction, which makes them choose any kinds of subject that they want to learn. Regardless of their gender, students now are able to earn a degree based on their interests. To sum up, it is clear that an obsolete belief made students choose specific subjects and it is proper education that can solve this problem and gives them equal opportunities.