Fresh water has always been a limited resources in some part of the world today, however, growing world wide demand had made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increase demand and what measures can government and individuals take to respond to this problem.

Access to clean water has always been limited somewhere throughout the history. At present, it has become a global concern due to increasing demand. The reasons behind such a concern are an evergrowing population and an immense pollution of water sources. Regarding this problem, I believe, both the government and individuals can take actions like suspending activities of companies that contaminate waters or minimizing wasted fresh water as an individual. As the people on Earth grows each day, the needed amount of water increases correspondingly. Since modern people live longer than their ancestors, number of people grows exponentially. For example, nowadays the population grows by a billion faster than ever, reaching eight billion people in just 9 years. Besides, the capitalism present in almost any country today has made a lot of party choose profit, rather than saving the environment. That is because draining their dangerous chemicals in rivers or seawater is a lot cheaper than properly managing their waste. In particular, industrial group working with oils and chemicals are more probable to pollute nearby drink sources. Although we cannot stop the population from growing, it is our duty to save the environment for future generations. Hence why governments should start actively punishing corporations with high water polluting indexes. Suspending their activities might be a better choice than fining them, as the latter may not solve the problem. Furthermore, even individuals can make a positive impact on this situation by minimizing their day-to-day wasted rain. A recent study found that the average person uses up to one hundred and fifty litres of clean water every day when in reality they only need thirty. Promoting and following a lifestyle of no waste is feasible and, I think, will have a huge effect in the long run. In conclusion, the lack of access to freshwater is a consequence of an increasing populace and water sources contaminated by big companies' garbage. Albeit, in my way of thinking, the government's proper control of such corporations' activities and individuals following a water -saving lifestyle can help us deal with water shortage.