Television has diminished the free time of people. It can make people lazy and not socialize with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Technology has taken the contemporary world by storm. People now have a lot of ways to keep themselves entertained and this has led to stick them to their own homes. Television is one of them as it provides entertainment for all ages. It is a common perception that the screen has replaced the social activities of humans and is one of the causes that make them less active physically. We will be discussing the related points below and I will then eventually give my opinion. First of all, TV has different broadcasts targeting different kinds of audiences so it is one for all mediums. That is one of the biggest merits of this media so obviously it hooks everyone in the family. For example, kids sometimes neglect their studies while watching cartoons and teenagers during cricket and football leagues spend most of their time in front of the television. Thus, it can be a source of distraction in many cases. Secondly, before this invention, people in society used to go to parks or families used to sit together for the evening snack. However, with the availability of multiple channels, members now prefer to sit alone in their rooms and enjoy them instead of socialising and making new friends. Humans are social animals and it has brought a very negative effect on our psychology. For instance, a current study shows that the use of screens for more than 1 hour per day can cause depression in the population. In conclusion, I opine that TV has revolutionised our entertainment industry yet it has the potential to take away importance of the social life. It is important to take an intermediate path and relish both sides which includes interpersonal relationships and favourite programmes.