In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The world's population has recently shown a new trend that the number of city residents is growing up, whereas that of regional area is declining. I believe that this issue has negative impacts on our society. In this essay, I will suggest traffic congestion in the city and the lack of workers in rural areas in support of my stance. First of all, with the increased number of individuals residing in the cities, the traffic jams have become more serious, negatively affecting the efficiency of commute. For instance, when I lived in a central city, it took almost an hour by car to get to the destination which was merely 20km far away from my home. Additionally, the severe air pollution in urban areas, caused by the phenomenon of population concentration, has also been regarded as a significant problem. Therefore, it is obvious that the cities are encountering several obstacles such as road conditions and environmental issues. Furthermore, the countryside around the world is suffering from a lack of workers, leading to inefficient development. In particular, in the countryside, since there are insufficient experts, who are specialized in engineering, it is likely to be impossible to develop the facilities efficiently. Also, access for getting customer services is not easy as young people who are skilled in advanced technologies and clear communication are hardly seen in regional areas. In other words, these factors delay the advancement of rural regions. In conclusion, the recent trend that people tend to live in cities to enhance their quality of lifestyle might result in causing traffic congestion and air pollution. In addition, in terms of the impacts on the countryside, this trend is likely to delay regional development.