In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology advancements are surprising humanity every single day, one of the first industries affected by that development was the printed newspapers, magazines and books. An argument among society was and in some extend still is that in the near future people will rather have access to free or cheaper online content than pay for the printed version. Although it appears to be tempting, I completely disagree with that prediction. When the advancement in technology started to happen, there was a natural trend of taking advantage and having access to items that not a while ago was paid for free. In the beginning, many companies suffered and a number of them had to close due to not having enough revenue to keep the business open. However, the printed business alongside authors, journalists, and other stakeholders fought for their intellectual property and started to develop ways to not only sell the product of their work using the Internet but also protect them from being easily stolen. Additionally, another reason why the free and also cheaper paid content online after a promising beginning started to experience reduction was twofold. Firstly, the online version does not have the emblematic smell of the printed ones. Studies carried out by experts found out that more than 60% of that commerce consumers prefer to pay more and have the nostalgic smell. The other reason is the vision damage that the light of devices used to read the online newspapers and books. Therefore, at the end of the day, not paying or paying less to read this content on a tablet, mobile phone or computer is, in the long term, more expensive due to medical bills and glasses that the individuals might need. To conclude, despite the many advantages perceived at the beginning of the online content era, I completely disagree that they are still valid, thus the printed industry is alive. That is in the light of the fact that laws and procedures were developed to safeguard the intellectual property of companies and their stakeholders, and the health concern of using a device to read for long periods of time.