People who go live in other countries should follow their customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As individuals migrate to other countries, it is believed by some that they should follow their customs and traditions. Certainly, I disagree with this viewpoint as firstly, they might lose their own identity with the passage of time and secondly, their language would also become either extinct or could die if the practice continues. Migrators would gradually lose their own identities once they try to adopt a new culture. This is because they are likely to participate in occasions and celebrate festivals of other countries where they chose to migrate, and therefore, it is obvious that they might forget the importance of their own customs with time. Moreover, they would pass the similar traditional norms to their coming generations who would have no idea about their original culture indeed. To illustrate, 70% of the Sikhs living in Canada, do not keep long hairs at present, which is considered as a true identity of any Sikh as per Sikhism, the predominant religion of Sikhs. Although following other country’s traditions would minimize or rather end up discrimination, migrators would eventually lose their own language as well. Since they prefer to communicate in the same language where they migrated in order to get along with the people, over their native language. This will not only pass on from parents to children but also among friends, and thereby forgetting native language is realistic. For instance, English began to replace Sanskrit in India by the British in the 19th century, and less than 5% of Indians know Sanskrit at present, which was widely spoken otherwise. To conclude, despite some would believe that people who go overseas to settle down should accept their customs and traditions, I am inclined to believe that this should not happen as they would leave behind their identity as well as language inevitably.