Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is undeniable that pollution has affected people's life significantly, so according to some, the best approach that the traffic and pollution issues would be solved is to rise the price of fuels, especially petrol. In my opinion, I agree that the price of petrol ought to be increased as it will greatly benefit the environment and there are various measures that could be implemented that would have a huge effect on this problem, including cleaner fuels. A good reason to increase the price of fuel for tackling environmental issues is that it would limit the number of drivers on the roads. At present, due to the affordability of petrol, the majority of people prefer to use their private cars, even for short distances, which has numerous negative impacts on the environment. In other words, if the price of fuel becomes exorbitant, people would be more inclined to use public transportation. For example, in developed countries where petrol is so expensive, the majority of people commute to their work by the underground train system Another appropriate way that could be done to reduce the severity of low air index is utilising cleaner alternatives such as electricity. To be precise, the technology is already available to produce electric energies that would be not only quieter but also cleaner to use. Persuading manufacturers and travellers to adopt this new technology, consequently, would be an effective way for improving air quality. For instance, electric cars have been gaining popularity in the Netherlands, which have numerous positive impacts on the environment. In conclusion, I agree that the best way to tackle traffic and polluted air is to rise the price of petrol, which leads to the use of public transportation by the public more and using alternative energies like electricity would be another productive solution to this problem.