Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Societies are grappling with the rise in crime, and thus many suggest that an increase in police patrols on the streets can tackle this problem. In this essay, I will argue that having more police force available on the street is not the answer to the issue of the rise in crime rates as any progress as a result of it would be temporary if the root cause of the problem is not addressed extensively; and further it is far more expensive compared with other methods. One reason for my disagreement with putting numerous police officers on the streets to monitor and prevent the occurrence of crime is that unless the underlying reasons for criminality such as poverty and lack of education among the unfortunate were to be studied and properly resolved, rushing to react to the surge in the crime rates by flowing police force to the streets would have temporary results at best. New York City in the 1990s, for instance, experienced this particular phenomenon as the mayor tried to lower crime in this fashion, nevertheless he succeeded to combat the issue for merely a few months. Hence, pouring police officers on the streets if not accompanied by extensive measures to eradicate the root cause, could not lead to success. Moreover, These types of solutions provided to combat crime are extremely expensive. This is because running the program requires a significant police members and a vast amount of budget. As a consequence, it could rarely continue for a long period. For example, last year's figures show that most of the budgets spent in the homeland security ministry were designated for hiring and these types of patrols to keep the city crime -free. The longer authorities attempt to implement these plans of putting officers on the streets, the more they have to spend for hiring and running it. In conclusion, I would argue that having more police on the street is not the best measure to tackle the problem of rise in the crime rates on the grounds that the results neither would be satisfactory nor cheap.