Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are plenty of subjects available for students to choose in university, which lead to a phenomenon that some of them feel like studying more subjects. Some people advocate these students should pull all their time in focusing on their major; however, I suggest they have the freedom to take courses on top of their main subjects. Admittedly, it is critically important that students lay more emphasis on their major. Firstly, the reasons why they enter universities are no more than gaining advanced knowledge and eventually becoming specialists in certain fields. Secondly, universities are places where students are able to prepare themselves before entering the workforce. For example, those individuals who want to select being a doctor as a career, they are required to take medicine as a major. Nevertheless, I still hold the idea that students have the freedom to learn whatever they are interested in, instead of spending the whole time studying their main subjects. First and foremost, on top of their major, acquiring knowledge from different fields may contribute to cultivating members that can benefit the society. Furthermore, it is likely to bring positive effects, such as increasing job prospectives, if students are able to take courses which they find their interests in. For instance, people who major in foreign languages seem to have less work opportunities than those who major in science nowadays, since they only specialise in one field. If these students have passion in managing, marketing or engineering, it is reasonable to provide them access to get inner sight of that field. In conclusion, despite arguments that students should spend all their time in their major in order to get a qualification, I believe that it will benefit the society if there is a likelihood for them to study subjects in addition to their major.