The rising cost and decreasing supply of fossil fuels such as oil and gas along with environmental concerns, means that their continued use as our main source of energy is impractical and alternative sources must be found. The only realistic alternative is nuclear energy. To what extent do you agree or disagree ? Give reasons and relevant examples for your answer.

Nuclear energy is considered a replacement for fossil fuels due to the supply is falling out and extremely costly of oil and gas since our prominent source of energy is not environmentally friendly. While I ardently believe that nuclear energy undeniably could be a quintessential substitution for fossil fuels although usage of nuclear energy could give detrimental effects on the environment. To begin with, nuclear energy is comparably environmentally friendly to other secondary derivations of energy due to the fact the construction of nuclear power plants requires less land than solar farms or wind farms, which minimizes the destruction of habitats in the area. On the flip side, the existence of nuclear power plants might potentially harm the ecosystem in the case of warm water released from the plants into the sea or river, which is unsuitable for aquatic life, and may lead to death of the marine animals. All in all, while a nuclear power plant does take much less space than other type of power stations, it still has adverse effects on Mother Earth. Other than that, some countries may have a vast abundance of nuclear materials which can be advantageous to them since the government could utilize the materials to their convenience by manufacturing a plethora of nuclear energy. Hence, this gives the country a quintessential advantage over other regions that do not possess an equal amount of power. As a case in point, countries such as Russia and The United States hold a high ranking globally due to their advanced nuclear technology. Despite that, these countries may easily be held accountable as aggressors if they were to misuse their power by developing nuclear weapons as well as initiating war against other countries; the world's tranquillity could vanish in a blink of an eye. In short, despite the idea that nuclear energy can be greatly beneficial to particular countries, it is irrefutable that the power imbalance between countries can effortlessly threaten world peace and harm the lives of many. As a gist, it is irrefutable that nuclear energy is a quintessential option to substitute the usage of non-renewable energy such as fossil fuels. However, the adverse effects of nuclear energy undoubtedly outweigh the positive side of replacing fossil fuels with nuclear energy. Hence, the need for an effective safety policy to be implemented will address the proliferation of nuclear technologies.