Some people say that art subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that art should not be mandatory to learn for high school students. I completely agree with this idea because by doing so, we are limiting a child's brain development and furthermore, they have the right to choose the subject according to their interest. Teenage is that phase when the mind of an individual starts becoming more artful. By making drawing compulsory for undergraduates, we are in a way restricting their brain development. We should not set any boundaries for the kids at this age and let them think beyond art. This way they would be able to be more creative and can focus on their strengths, like what is their subject of concern, what they love doing and can choose as their career. For example, research has shown that people in the age group 11-15 are the most energetic and innovative. They can learn and grab things quickly. Secondly, I believe everyone has a right to choose and learn a subject according to their own will. Institutions can add a variety of subjects rather than just art, like music, dancing, fashion studies and philosophy. By adding these subjects, children will be able to choose what's best for them. If they start learning from basics in school, they will carry that knowledge and will evolve in that area with time. Institutions should encourage youth to go for the area that's best suited for them. For instance, a famous fashion designer in India recently stated in her interview that she started learning the basics of fashion design from her school and polished her skills post-graduation by working under different designers. To conclude, making drawing compulsory for undergraduates will impede their brain development and they should be given a chance to select the area of their passion. Therefore, I totally agree that painting should not be made binding for youngsters.