Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to team how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some family heads argue that young children should participate in social settings rather than engage in individual activities. This essay will discuss both views and why I think it is essential to mingle with others. On the one hand, parents choose to let their children carry out free time activities on their own to develop independence. When children work independently, they acquire skills that will be useful for their future such as being able to solve problems. Furthermore, not having to spend time with a lot of people allows them to avoid disagreements with friends. Children find it easier to play online games than to go out to the park. Therefore, parents desire their children to stay home and do what they love on their own. On the other hand, research indicates that collaboration between young children enhances social and confidence skills. First, as young youths do things with their mates, they develop good communication skills by initiating and contributing to conversations. Hence, in future when they are young adults, they are prepared to face the challenges that come with working with different people. For example, as they participate in group settings, they become capable communicators and learn from other people's perspectives. Secondly, spending time with peers' supports the development of confidence. This is achieved when youths share ideas and extend on them, as a result, they build on their self-esteem knowing that their thoughts are valued. Therefore, it is important that children should get out of their comfort zone and meet people to strengthen life's essential skills such as social and confidence skills. In summary, some people think children should spend time on their own, while others think they should socialise. I think the latter is essential because it helps with skills for social life and confidence.