Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that people show a preference on films made in foreign countries instead of local ones. Although there are various reasons that contribute to such situation, the local government can provide their film companies with more fundings. On the one hand, people may choose the movies abroad for several reasons. Firstly, customers become more and more interested in the foreign folk stories. However, the local films usually consist of the very common stories and lack of the knowledge of story background in other countries. Secondly, native films are limited to the certain styles which people have already been familiar with. Finally, the actors in the film could also be regarded as one of the reasons since more and more people show their concern with the foreign actors. On the other hand, local authorities should spare no effort to improve the status of domestic films by satisfying their financial need. Firstly, to support their own films will boost the local economy in turn and it may also produce the positions for employees which means to solve the local employment problem. Secondly, as for the long-time development, people would set up the self-confidence of their own culture by supporting the film made in their own country. Thirdly, without lack of money, some potential film company may grasp the chance to produce more attractive films. In conclusion, there are different underlying reasons behind the condition that abroad films attract more people than local ones. What the local authorities could do is to provide their company with enough funds.