Some people believe that people should be required to retire from their careers at a certain age. Others believe that people should be allowed to work as long as they like. Discuss both these view and give your opinion.

The increase in people's lifespan has aroused discussions about what is the most suitable retirement age. While some people support a mandatory retirement age, others believe that people should make their own choices. In my opinion, I disagree with the idea of fixing a retirement age since it is not suitable to society nowadays and personal choices should be respected. The normal retirement age is between 60 to 65, which has taken into account the health condition of most people. To illustrate, a normal 60-year-old person may experience deterioring health condition which may have adverse effects on their work performance. Particularly, jobs such as drivers, firemen, pilots require a good fitness level. Moreover, extending the retirement age of the senior employees affects the career advancement of the younger ones in the same company. Therefore, there are opinions supporting people to retire at a fixed age. On the other hand, people should have the freedom to decide the best time to retire. People have different circumstanances on their health, social status and personal interests. Some may choose to work for more money for retired life while others may get satisfaction from staying in the job. Moreover, experienced employees who wish to work longer can help to coach junior workers which can be beneficial to the company. Based on the reasons, I believe that people should be given the choice to decide the retirement age. To conclude, there are opposite views on whether imposing a strict requirement on retirement age. I believe people should be allowed to work until they have a decided the best time to start their retirement life.