Write about the following topic: ‘Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been a massive difference in the way younger individuals respect their parents in the past and in recent times. These unacceptable behaviours have developed over time by some factors, which will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, society has made young individuals believe they can make decisions on their own such as choosing the school they want to attend, the type of food they want and the clothes they prefer to put on. This has made them think they do not need their parents in making these decisions for them anymore and if their parents disapprove there will be a change in attitude. Secondly, disciplining children was a thing of the past but in present days it is termed as abuse. Children misbehave and are not corrected properly to know they have done something wrong. If they are not corrected they will not understand they are wrong. Correcting a child at their developing stage trains them for the future by making them differentiate between bad and good behaviours. Lastly, this unwanted behaviour is taken to schools where they're being taught. Teachers have reported that children exhibit the same behaviours just like they do at home. This discourages teachers who are willing to teach other students. the United Kingdom has reported a shortage of teachers because a major reason is some students make teaching unbearable for them and they have to leave their jobs. In conclusion, this essay has shown that the disrespect exhibited by children to parents is taken to society and leaves a negative impact. It will be better to go back to the way children are being trained in the past in other to promote respect in society.